Council Members

Current Members of the ADTAV Council

Stan Gates (Morwell) - President
John Tserkezidis (Metro) - Vice President
Rhonda Armour (Ballarat) - Secretary
Peter Phillips (Metro) - Treasurer
Michael Waters (Metro)
Margaret McLennan (Metro)
Jes Jorgensen (Metro)
William Billings (Seymour)
Four vacancies - Bendigo, Geelong and 2 Metro


Stan Gates - President

Stan Gates

Stan lives on Phillip Island in Cowes. He is the owner and operator of Bass Coast, Phillip Island and Wonthaggi Driving Schools. Stan was involved in the Building Industry for 30 years, has been a member of the Association since 1996 and a Committee member since 2006. Stan was involved in setting up the successful L2Ps Program in the Bass Coast area, is an accredited Keys2Drive Instructor and specialises in training people with disabilities to drive, covering all of Gippsland with modified hand control cars. 
Stan has driven different types of heavy vehicles (including a 6 week stint driving coaches for news media during the 2000 Olympics in Sydney), which helps in Occupational Therapist heavy vehicles Assessments. He is involved on a Community Road Safety Committees and representing ADTAV on Road Safety. Stan can be contacted on 0418 145 037.


John Tserkezidis - Vice President

john tserkezidis

My background as a driver trainer started in the Army Reserve as an Instructor/Licence Testing Officer. I was responsible for the running of my unit's transport platoon and the writing and conducting of competency based driver training in the Army’s fleet of vehicles. I completed a Certificate III Road Transport, Certificate IV Workplace Trainer and Assessor and a Graduate Diploma of Technology Education. I work as a teacher of Materials Technology at a secondary college and am passionate about educating our younger drivers. As a member of the Council I want to work towards privatising the licence testing and introducing Competency Based Training. To achieve these goals will require further professional development of the ADTAV members which can only enhance the perception within the community of the level of professionalism of the ADTAV Driver Trainers. John can be contacted on 0421 971 787.


Rhonda Armour - Secretary

Rhonda headshot cropped

Rhonda lives in Hamilton and Horsham and offers a range of car driver training opportunities. She is a disability training specialist and works with several Occupational Therapists covering the Western and Wimmera regions of Victoria She began in 1998 and started with a company gaining her Motorcycle and Heavy Rigid licence. A respected colleague then asked her to join his company and expand the car driver training branch of his business. For the past 13 years, Rhonda has run her own business and enjoys the dual citizenship. Since joining the ADTAV Council she is finding it a privilege and is pleased to represent a rural voice for our state. Rhonda can be contacted on 0418 504 052. 


Peter Phillips - Treasurer

Peter Phillips

Peter is the Manager of RACV Drive School. He is a qualified driver trainer, workplace trainer and business manager with 14 years experience in the emergency services communications field prior to joining RACV and the Association. Peter continues to volunteer as a mentor with the L2P Program (Nillumbik Council).

Peter can be contacted on 0402 357 773.


Michael Waters

Michael Waters

Michael is currently responsible for the delivery of pre and post licensing driver training programs provided by the RACV, including Driver Safety Awareness workshops, National Keys2drive coaching, Learner Driver programs, Fleet Driver Safety programs and Senior Driver Programs. Michael has previous experience with bus and truck training as well as defensive driving.

Michael can be contacted on 0419 105 955.



Margaret McLennan

Margaret has been in the driver training industry since 1981 and during that time has worked for a variety of driving schools both large and small. Margaret currently works at Box Hill Institute as a Training Consultant.

Margaret can be contacted on 0404 885 085.


Jes Jorgensen

Jes can be contacted on 0417 164 551.


William Billings 

Will has been appointed as a casual Council member for the Seymour region. He can be contacted on 0408 008 223.